>Back to Our Favorite Restaurant Once Again – ‘Ana-Ogul’

sedefscorner tarafından

>Yahsi, Bodrum
We had problems with our internet connection so I’ve been out of commission for the past couple of days.  Our days continue to be a series of episodes that are quite similar to one another, yet retain their charm all the same.  We are contained in our own little world, riding on a wave of blissful familial harmony. 


My husband and I went back to ‘Ana-Ogul’ in Turgutreis again. 

I had the ‘Portakal Sulu Kerevizli, Pirasa’ (Leeks with Celery, prepared with Orange Juice) and my favorite – ‘Kabak Cicegi Dolmasi’ (Stuffed Zucchini Flowers).  The filing for the ‘Dolma’ is similar to most dolma (which basically means ‘stuffed’) recipes we have in Turkish cooking – You sauté the onion and the rice, then add pine nuts, currants, sugar, salt, pepper and dried mint. You fill the zucchini flowers and cook in  a little bit of olive oil.  It is served cold. 
Although, Ali, the owner explained to us, that this filling is an Istanbul recipe and the people from this area do not add the currants and pine nuts; in the Aegean region they put chopped green onions, fresh dill and white pepper.  Recipes to follow soon.
I confess I couldn’t resist the desert ‘Pesmelba’ (Peach Melba,) it was heavenly. 
After partaking in another wonderful meal, I decided to ask the owner one or two questions about my own deficiencies in the kitchen.  I can never seem to get frying vegetables quite right; unfortunately, fried eggplant is my husband’s favorite dish that he would never tire of having every single day.  She instructed me to just fry the sliced eggplant in lots of hot oil, no salting or soaking ahead of time; I am skeptical but willing to give it a try. 

I also realized I haven’t mentioned the details of the restaurant before… so here they are…

ANA – OGUL Lokantasi
Asagi Mahalle Gul Sokak No. 8
(Turgutreis Jandarma Komutanligi Arkasi)
(Behind the Gendarme Headquarters in Turgutreis)
Turgutreis – Bodrum / Mugla
Tel 0252-382-8003

We will probably be back there tomorrow and I will continue to drone on and on about the delectable feasts we are having.  I hope nobody minds…

